6536 – Change

This week in my technology class I explored component 2.4: Adapt to Change: Transfer current knowledge to new and emerging technologies. To being understanding “change” I viewed a YouTube title “I teach, therefore you learn…or do you?”

My take away from the video was that students today interact differently with the world and their environment because of the way technology has infiltrated our lives. The video appeals to teachers about adapting their instructional approaches in ways that incorporate technology. The video stresses that teaching must grow to meet the needs of the students of the 21st century. I must admit I was not completely convinced with the video’s presentation. I believe many teachers today are adapting to the new uses of technology, for example when I went through high school all of my teachers required our work to be typed. I think teachers should embrace technology and utilize it when it will truly better education for the students. However, sometimes I believe older methods are better to employ. For example, in math, nothing beats practicing many different types of problems with pencil and paper. The process of solving a problem helps students to understand the methods. Technology could be used to help students further explore the concepts behind the problems. I support instruction that features many methods, technology being just one of them.

I found this week’s readings insightful because they finally addressed some of the challenges of integrating technology into teaching. The 2010 Horizon report addressed some of the critical challenges associated with the adoption of technology into the classroom. The following are two that I find most constraining to the proper integration of technology:

1) “Even where technology for learning is strongly promoted there remains a clear need for professional development opportunities around emerging technology.” I mentioned this need once before in a previous journal entry but I’ll mention it again because I think it’s significant. I’ll bet most teachers are aware of the need to merge digital tools into their lessons. Awareness is not the problem. In my view, HOW, is the issue. There needs to be much more direct instruction and concrete examples on how to make a lesson that teaches skills and institutes technology use. Furthermore, there needs to be evidence that it’s beneficial. I also believe there needs to be more cohesion between what to teach, and what’s tested. Presently, the emphasis on standardized tests forces teachers to teach very specific lessons because they are required to prepare students for examinations. If testing and accountability were lessened, perhaps teachers would feel more freedom to experiment with technology integration.

2) “The need for formal instruction in key new skills, including information literacy, visual literacy, and technological literacy, poses a continuing challenge to educational programs.” Before students can use digital tools that have to learn the skills and know-how. This requires taking the time to instruct students on many subjects including, online safety, digital citizenship, how to use the tool, etc. Although it’s important to learn it takes away valuable time from other lessons. I want to teach secondary level math. I question how much extra time I will have to spend on teaching technology usage. In my view, a better approach would be to implement technology class in education beginning in elementary school. Technology class should be a required course for all students and continue throughout their schooling career, similar to math or English. I think this is a much better way to address the learning needs of students in the 21st century because it allows teachers in other content areas to use digital tools without having to use up valuable instruction time.

Reference List:

Johnson, L., Smith, R., Levine, A.,  & Haywood, K.  (2010).  The 2010 Horizon Report: Australia-New Zealand Edition.  Austin, Texas:  The New Media Consortium. Retrieved (2010) from http://wp.nmc.org/horizon-anz-2010/

(2009). I teach, therefore you learn…or do you? YouTube. Retrieved (2010) form http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6AWYIit1uNk

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andrea Freeman
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 14:52:59

    Samantha,
    You brought up an interesting point when you mentioned the clash between the time we need to spend educating our students on the proper use of technology and the time we are required to spend doing other activities. You are right, most teachers are aware of the need to integrate more technology in the classroom. But, we are also dealing with the “coverage” pressure, which we also have trouble buying into. I think we all truly believe in quality over quantity, but that is not something we are really able to concentrate on. Technology often falls into the “I will if I have time” basket, even with those technologies that are supposed to give us more time.
    Andrea

    Reply

  2. dave hubbard
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 15:18:41

    I am so happy you support the old way too. There is hope for all of us now. Yes, new technology is great, but in the wrong hands (or untrained ones) it doesn’t do much good. I too see the need for specific training in the use of emerging technology for teachers, but it needs to be subject specific. I love your idea of a technology class in the elementary grades. I remember typing being a required topic in High School. I wonder where the schools and teachers will find the time to train all the children? On a side note (and I hope I don’t get in trouble) I found a website (http://www.eadshome.com/Famoushomeschooled.htm) that listed famous people who were home schooled. Among those listed were: George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, John Quincy Adams, Abraham Lincoln, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Martha Washington, Florence Nightingale, Mark Twain, George Bernard Shaw, Irving Berlin, Charles Dickens,
C.S. Lewis, Blaise Pascal, Booker T. Washington, Thomas Edison, Benjamin Franklin, and Andrew Carnegie. It does make me wonder what those parents did right.

    Reply

  3. blayloa
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 20:22:04

    I agree 100% with your call for more professional development surrounding technology. If the goal is really to introduce students to new and emerging technologies, teachers must not only know how to use it first, but also be comfortable enough with it to be able to use it in the classroom. It is also true that students must have some basic knowledge such as some literacy to effectively use technology. They must also be aware enough to show good judgment when using technology, such as not sharing personal information and being civil to others. Right now I think that this is a gap that is missing between what students need to know about using technology and what they actually know and do.

    Reply

Leave a comment