6535 – Innovation

The topic for this week was Innovation: WTS: 2.2: Operate Systems: Understand technology systems and use hardware and networks to support learning. I really enjoyed the readings from this week because I finally read about concrete examples of how teachers are employing technology in the classroom. I also felt convinced by some of the arguments, or reasons for using technology. What touched me most is the argument from Learning in Hand about using portable digital tools: “mobile learning provides increased options for the personalization of learning” (Vincent, T.). For me this is one of the most influential aspects about technology.  Auditory learners can learn through podcasts, visual learners can learn by watching videos or tutorials, and students who prefer direct instruction can access the web to read. All learners have the luxury of learning when and where it suits them best. A couple examples that I liked best are:

  • A student who does not understand a math concept finds a podcast to view that visually explains the concept (Vincent, T).
  • During class a group of students create flashcards that they can access from their handheld computers at home (Vincent, T).

I viewed a YouTube video that demonstrated how one math teacher, Cindy Snell, is using technology to innovate her teaching (Snell, C., 2008). She uses a multidimensional whiteboard platform to communicate and collaborate with students throughout the world. She is also able to start a web tour from the whiteboard, application share that search, and record the tutoring session so that students can download it onto their iPods. I’m most intrigued by the ability to download lessons onto an iPod because it allows students multiple visits to one topic if necessary. For some students this is hugely beneficial.

I also enjoyed reading about ways to use cell phones in the classroom although I’m not yet convinced that this is smart idea. Yes, cell phones can be used for educational activities, but I don’t believe the benefits completely outweigh the drawbacks. I guarantee most students would be giving half their attention to the lesson because the other half would be involved in a texting conversation with friends. Personally, I picture myself utilizing other digital tools such as computers, iPods, iPads, and interactive whiteboards. I also picture myself being pretty strict about only taking out these tools when we are directly involved in an activity that supports them. Although digital tools can be very useful and enhance learning, they also offer many distractions.

Reference List:

Green, E. (2008). The value of using cell phones to enhance education and some concrete ways to do so. The innovative educator. Retrieved November 2010 from http://theinnovativeeducator.blogspot.com/2008/05/value-of-using-cell-phones-to-enhance.html

Snell, C. (2008). Classroom Innovation. YouTube. Retrieved November, 2010 from http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G-ho1lGLbvg&feature=related

Vincent, T. (n.d). Learning in hand. Creative Common License. Retrieved November 2010 from http://learninginhand.com/

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. hubbard
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 11:35:03

    Dear Samantha,

    I agree that cell phones would be a distraction to some students. Even I, as an adult have a hard time doing work on my computer without browsing the web between thoughts. I like the idea of cell phones in education, but the reality is that the teacher would have a hard time keeping control over way it’s used. I’m not sure how to come to middle ground with technology. The power is there for both good and evil.

    Reply

Leave a comment